Explained - 7 Stages of an SDLC

By NIIT Editorial

Published on 06/01/2022

8 minutes

1. Development

This is the initial phase of the SDLC. It is at this stage that it is decided whether or not there is a need for a new business improvement plan. When a need has been found (or a problem has been found), solutions need to be found.

Information and resources are collected during this phase to support the need for a new system or to improve existing ones. Depending on the information that supports the need, solutions are drafted and submitted for approval.

At this stage, it is a good idea to brush up on the current web development methods to have the most up-to-date information and resources to meet the need.


2. System Analysis and Requirements

This is where the proposed solutions are tested until one is found that best suits the company's strategies and goals. At this stage, planning is underway but at a much deeper level of analysis.

Problem and related programs are analyzed to determine the job requirements of a project or solution. These will be the requirements that the new system needs to meet to solve the problem and align with the company strategy.

This is where the timeline is chosen, who is responsible for certain areas, and how the needs of the business can be met.


3. Construction Plans

As it sounds here where a new system or software will be built. Boundaries will be discussed with stakeholders and the technology to be used, project issues, and time and budget. After review, the best construction method is selected that will meet the requirements set out in the second phase.

The chosen design method will need to describe all the things that need to be built, the movement of users and data communications, as well as communications and third-party services.


4. Development

The development phase is where the actual work begins in a new system or software. Usually, a system engineer, network engineer, or data builder, any combination will be introduced to start writing source code.

It is important during this phase that a flow chart is created. This flow chart is used to ensure that system processes are well planned.

While this section is usually about building the actual software that will be used, in the example model, this section is where the model type is made. The model is automatically developed and tested continuously until it meets the needs of the customer and the customer is satisfied. After that, some kind returns the last time in this category.


5. Integration and Evaluation

At this stage, experienced testers will begin testing the software or program according to needs. The purpose is to identify any deficiencies within the system and whether they are behaving by the written requirements from section 2.

This section is important for software delivery. It is common to go back and forth from the testing phase to the development phase. This is because as defects or problems are found within the software or system it is identified and sent back to the development phase to find a solution.


6. Implementation

And, as it sounds, this is the stage at which a new system is incorporated into standard business functions. New software or system is installed that requires additional code and deletes any files or data in the new system.

Because of the risk of disrupting business operations during installation, this stage will usually appear within a few hours. This is due to the power of errors with integration or transfer. While the goal is to reduce these errors, it is also possible that in extreme cases the company may lose product and revenue.

End users and analysts should see a preview of the finished program and the changes that the company will bring.


7. Performance and Care

The final phase of the SDLC includes standard maintenance and compulsory authorized updates. Here end-users can optimize the system to better suit future needs.

IT will be able to install new updates remotely, while also helping to customize the system to continue to meet company needs. It also deals with correcting any errors or issues that may arise in the future. There is no complete system and continuous maintenance is a necessary part of any new system or software project.



Compliance and adherence to SDLC are essential in ensuring the success of any project or software required to solve a problem or meet a need. SDLC is a series of 7 sections that define and describe the life cycle of software development. One can become a professional by getting trained through various online software development certification programs available.  NIIT is one such online course provider which offers a specialised course in software development.

SDLC can be made into a few models, the most prominent of which is the agile and prototype model. Both types rely heavily on customer feedback at the beginning of the cycle. This allows the company to meet customer needs effectively and on time.

Adopting the SDLC and the deployment model will go a long way in helping your company solve the problem, identify company and customer needs, and deploy new programs and software to meet those needs.

PGP in Full Stack Software Engineering

Gain expertise in front-end, back-end, web development, application development and software development technologies at different levels, which provides an edge over others in the extremely demanding field of software development. Start with a CTC of guaranteed Rs 5 LPA*

Job Assured Program*

Flexible Payment Option